Kamalovia – A Poem

Author’s foreword:

This poem was one of my first ones I wrote ever since I started writing, but I hesitated often to put it up due to its subject matter and sentimental value for me. Nevertheless, I will share it now with everyone and I’d love to know what your interpretation of it is!

Kamalovia

By A. A. Kamalov

Down with the Tsar, down with the Tsar!

Inside voices, heard afar.

I must tell none.

Silence is the best policy

To maintain peace and harmony.

.
Obedient citizen, I feigned loyalty,

For I would cease to exist;

Your wrath, iron fist

Of tortures, oh carrot and stick!

The blatant lies, it makes me sick.

.
Drunk with power, hung-over, disconnected from

Your subjects; you decreed that

Your word is law.

A kingdom? A dictatorship?

It matters not to His Lordship.

.
Divine right to rule – the ungodly hypocrite;

Joseph Stalin would be proud!

Cast out the soul,

Memories, owned by the state.

Lifelong servitude, my fate.

.
A serf, a kulak, prisoner in the gulag;

You think lowly of me. Why?

I cry and cry.

Vodka in hand, poison sweet,

Sharp quills pierce my wrist to bleed.

.
These quills are rifles, they’re Kalashnikov-made –

Look at my scars: bullet-holes,

Black ugly moles.

Loved you once, but you killed me.

Firing squad, my liberty.

What do you think?

