Daily Poetry Assignment: Day 1 – Haiku, Alliteration, Screens

Last week I signed up to this poetry-prompting blog called Writing 201, which is managed by the guys at Blogging University from the Daily Post blog. Basically what they do it that they give promts daily about what form of poetry to write, about what topic and using what poetry devices for that day. Technically you don’t have to do what they tell you, and not do it everyday (I doubt I will) but it’s a nice way for me to nurture my newfound interest in poetry.

This one is dedicated to Sylvia Plath, an American poet from the 1950s who was notoriously known for killing herself by sticking her head in her kitchen oven and suffocating herself. She was mentally ill and attempted many suicides before, but this fact overshadows the fact that she is a very talented woman who wrote very dark, but brutally honest verses about the environment she lived in. My personal favourite poem of hers is “Daddy”!

Sylvia

By A. A. Kamalov

Your sinister smiles

Silver smokescreen foreshadows

Your swift suicide

Is it good? I don’t like haikus because it is way too short a poem and I feel that it limits my expression. I’d like to know what you think. I’ll post some more poems soon!

4 thoughts on “Daily Poetry Assignment: Day 1 – Haiku, Alliteration, Screens

  1. I love this haiku! You’ve done a great job here. A suggestion I would have is to delete the period at the end. Not necessary – and the colon as well. The whole piece flows beautifully without it. To me, punctuation is a distraction – but that’s just my personal opinion! Also, you got the alliterations in! Good for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

