The Versatile Blogger Award

It has been a little more than about a week since I first switched sides to join the WordPress family. All week I’ve been spending my free time fiddling around with my blog’s appearance and settings to make it more reader-friendly. I hope you like the way it looks now, because it’s likely that it’ll stay that way.

Last week on, my best blogging friend ASpaceWithin nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you so much! I never expected to be nominated so soon :P. I never got nominated before in my old Blogger blog, so I was a little clueless at first on what to do. I had a read of ASpaceWithin’s post about her award after her nomination, but I felt like it wasn’t enough to understand what this blog really means.

According to Wiktionary, the word ‘versatile’ means “to be capable of doing many things competently”, and “having varied uses or many functions”. Combine the words ‘versatile’ and ‘blogger’ together means that I am nominated due to my apparent skills in being able to do lots of different things in my blog (at least, that’s how I understand it). I suppose I am ‘versatile’, since I make the effort to write about a variety of things here: languages, travel, expat life and food. I also have posted creative writing and fictional stories here for everyone to enjoy, so take a look if you already haven’t. 🙂

So how does this award suppose to work? Well, it is not from winning some kind of writing competition or anything like that. The award is freely distributable by people who already have been awarded as a recognition for the quality of their blogs’ content. My friend who nominated me must nominate other people for the award as well because it’s what you do after being nominated. It’s part of the blog-award rules. The full rules are here (taken word for word from the official VBA blog site):

Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site [VBA’s site].
Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

So step 1 and 2 are done. Now, I have to nominate 15 different bloggers whom I have recently followed as my award recipients. I thought that I would need to take loads of time to find them, but I already found a lot of sites to follow here in WordPress. However, the list is not yet completely fifteen yet, so I will add them as I go through the Internet. All of them are somehow related to my hobbies and interests, such as travels, current affairs, languages, food and arts. These blogs often have an interesting variation of content and writing to offer, and they will surely please you (I know I am!).

Side note: all blogs listed here are WordPress-based. While there are no specific rules against cross-platform awards, I think that the concept of award-sharing is something that is most well understood here in this platform. I don’t think it would hold much significance or prestige outside of WordPress.

If you have been nominated by me, I will go to each and every one of these sites and leave a comment saying that I have nominated them for this award, and why I think so. Expect me to do that within a week after this post is posted. It is you whether to accept the nomination or not (I know some people prefer not to be involved in blog-award business). If you do, please make the effort to follow the rules and find another 15 people to nominate. There are potentially thousands of brilliant blogs out there, just waiting to be noticed by some random stranger who would be most thankful for some recognition and encouragement. Having gone through the same kind of situation before, I am all for making new blogs with massive potential noticed and supported. We’re all a family here, after all.

So now, here are 7 things about myself that you wouldn’t already know before:

  1. I would love to have longer hair. My ideal hairstyle would be one with a large sweeping fringe that would cover my forehead and hair long enough to cover my ears just a little bit. I love the feeling of being able to swish my fringed hair to the sides by turning around quickly like in a shampoo commercial (hehehe…).
  2. I am a mediocre visual artist. I could draw people, faces and characters, but they would look very basic and almost-childlike in design. I used to learn how to draw a certain manga style on my own back in middle school. I practised through tracing existing artwork and applying techniques I researched through the internet. I became very enthusiastic about it and I thought I was becoming pretty good. My friends liked them and I received a lot of encouragement. I downloaded many art softwares like GIMP and I even bought a graphics tablet practise drawing digitally. Unfortunately, it turned out only to be a phase in my teenage life, becauase soon enough, I got bored and wasn’t bothered to draw any more. I moved places and I took interests in other things such as language learning.
  3. I have a seemingly endless fascination with anything Russian. Ever since I visited Sakhalin Island in Russia’s Far East two years back, I felt like I had a connection with the country which I can’t simply comprehend. Maybe it was the beauty of the changing seasons or the mysterious history of being ruled by iron-fisted royals and communists. Maybe it was the language that at first seemed so alien, yet so bold and charming to read and try speaking. No matter what I do, no matter what happened to it, I still admire the country until now. I am trying to learn bits of Russian when I have free time, while retaining my Cyrillic reading skills by using Facebook in Russian. I really wish I will be able to go to Russian again one day, this time, in European Russia, to Moscow, St. Petersburg and Kazan.
  4. My favourite subject in school is history – full stop. Nothing can make me change my mind about this. I love just how history as a sequence of events have impacted our lives today. History made me realise the importance of learning about any event not just from one side, but rather to look at many different perspectives, and to critically analyse and question the value of truths in the events. It made me more open-minded and analytical as a person than before. My favourite area of history to study is 20th century modern history, during WWII and the Cold War.
  5. I could not simply go to school in the morning without having a hot mug of black, unsweetened coffee. It might seem weird, maybe even inappropriate, that I am a coffee addict at such a young age. Believe me, if you want to go through your day at school having to take the International Baccalaureate, you need all the focus you can get to process the plethora of information chucked at us everyday.
  6. My most intimate relationship right now is with……. my laptop! I mean seriously, I do everything here that we’re almost inseparable. I publish posts, do homework, call my friends using Viber, watch movies, read comics, watch anime, do research, tweet on Twitter, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera using this trusty little device. My life would just not be the same without it – not only it would be ultra-inconvenient, it would leave me bored with nothing to do in the house except to help my mum with chores.
  7. Last but not least, my last fact is that I have a rather ethnically-diverse background. I could trace my ancestry to various places in and around the Malayan Archipelago. My maternal grandfather is descended from Javanese traders whose family had settled in Riau. My maternal grandmother’s family is ethnically Minangkabau from the West Sumatra region, modern day Indonesia. Both of their families had branched off at some pointed and migrated to modern day Malaysia during the colonial era. My late paternal grandfather was a mixed Ceylonese-Tamil and Malay, but my grandmother was ethnically Chinese, but was raised and adopted in a Malay household. She was born in British Singapore, while her ancestors were probably immigrants from China itself. In that sense, I am culturally linked to Indonesia, Singapore, China and Sri Lanka at the same time!

So there are my 7 facts (or 10001 facts, if you count all the minute details I put there). To all my readers, whoever you are, thank you for willing to stop by and read my posts. I really appreciate it and I can’t thank you guys enough. If you like my content, please hit the like button, share and subscribe/follow. If you have anything to say, I’m always open to comments and criticisms of all sorts (just no trolling, please). Until then, have a wonderful time here!

2 Comments

  1. Hey, Ahmad! I probably won’t ‘officially accept’ this award, because… well… I don’t follow or read that many blogs and I’ve already done two of these. There are only so many times I am comfortable bugging the same people about awards over and over. ^^”

    Still I thank you for the nomination and the readership. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

